Goodbyes

Making a Difference

I’m starting to get used to goodbyes.

As a TLG volunteer just rounding out my second year, this is now old hat. The friends I’ve made over the past months will go their separate ways – some back home, some to other countries, some to their summer assignments in Georgia. Most, I will never see again.

That’s teaching abroad. You’re thrown together with strangers for a year, and the friendships you develop are short and intense and interesting. The brightest flames burn quickest. Those people whose every blog post and facebook update I hung on last week will be the people I stop following next week. Their pictures are no longer of Georgia, but of their hometowns and their friends and families and old haunts, and I will know that I have let them go, and I will push them out of sight because I do not want to dwell…

View original post 403 more words

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Georgian Life, TLG (Teach and Learn in Georgia) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

