A nicely written blog which illustrates a dilemma that I’m sure many of us have had. Personally, I strive for fluency, leave the Georgian teachers to teach for accuracy since you as a foreigner are a limited resource, and how often do you meet a foreigner who speaks perfect English 100% of the time! Even native speakers don’t always speak accurately, so why make learning a new language harder than it needs to be. If I was expected to be 100% accurate every time I tried to practice my Georgian, I’d immediately clam up and see it as a waste of time, I’d know I’d fail. But teaching people to be confident, to give it a go, no matter what, that makes more sense. After all, how many mistakes does a baby make when its learning to speak? It goes by sounds and repetition and grammar falls into place over time. Great topic though!

Making a Difference

My host mother and I share a very challenging 6th grade class. There are two distinct levels – a group of eight students are studying the second Macmillan book and a much louder group of about fifteen students are studying the third Macmillan book. Until a couple of weeks ago, I worked primarily with the bigger group and my co-teacher (and host mother) worked with the smaller one. Two simultaneous lessons generally resulted in a very loud, and often frustrating 45 minutes. A few weeks ago, my host mother and I began switching between groups – some days I would work with the lower level; and others with the upper level. For some reason, this was rarely discussed before arriving in the classroom, but simply announced by my co-teacher to begin the lesson. Just before the beginning of April, annoyed by the lack of consistency, I made an attempt to…

View original post 924 more words

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

