Encounters in English

Another really lovely blog which shows just how TLG really is making a difference. I couldn’t help but smile as I read this, this is how it was for me in the village!

Making a Difference

It’s a normal morning– I’m making the fifteen minute walk to school, and along the way I meet familiar faces, most of them greeting me, in English, with the words, “Hello Mikkela! Good morning! How are you?”

While I’ve now become accustomed to the familiarity of hearing my native tongue in an unfamiliar setting, it still makes me chuckle a little, smile, and think to myself, oh Georgia. Because, truth be told, the fact that 90% of people on my route to school know a few words in English seems a little shocking. And for some, it extends beyond just basic phrases. Three quick anecdotes:

1) As I was walking to school, I was approached by a man I’d never seen before. He was wearing disheveled clothes, had bloodshot eyes, liquor on his breath, and a bottle of beer in his hand. It was 8:30 in the morning. Rather than flee, however…

View original post 624 more words

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Georgian Language, Georgian Life, TLG (Teach and Learn in Georgia) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

