Another really great blog, and so refreshing to hear about village life. This is pretty much as it was in the village where I taught. I was constantly followed round, even to the toilet, just so that people could practice with me and make the most of every tony opportunity, especially hard for the more shy students who had no chance of competing with their uber keen class mates. Thanks so much for sharing this.

Making a Difference

In my village, approximately 7 people speak English, including my co-teachers, the English teacher who had a baby, and me.

I don’t know what the level of English was in the past in my school, in my family, or in my village. I do, however, know the level of English that exists today. In my school, my co-teachers speak English well, although, I occasionally slip into Georgian out of habit. Students yell at me from every direction, “Hello!” and “You are beautiful; I love you!” After school, on the walk home, children follow me as they piece together sentences to ask what family I have, if I like Georgia, and how old my friend’s sister’s baby is. My family does not speak English, although we have come to a good balance of my stunted Georgian and their bits of English. In my village, the woman down the street practices English…

View original post 598 more words

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

