Living in Georgia the Caucasus, I have to admit that wine is one of the things I miss the most – ironic given that it was my love of wine which initially brought me to Georgia. Don’t get me wrong, I love Georgian wine. But there are days when I crave other grapes like shiraz, pinot noir, voignier, muscat, carmenere…..grapes that you just can’t get here. Gone are my days of a bottle of rioja with my dinner, or a fine ice wine with desert, and its hardly as if you can just ask your friends back in Britain, to pop a bottle in the post!! I hope that one day, Georgian wines will be on everyone’s wine list, and so too, that I can pop into any shop in Georgia and buy wines from around the world. Until that day, I’ll just have to enjoy blogs like this one instead.

thewinewanderers

The Wine Wanderers have been lying low for a few weeks working our way through an awful lot of the pinot noir we first learned to love when we were living in California.

This grape is notoriously difficult to cultivate, but they make some lovely bottles over there, which is why pinot got a special mention in the wine country road movie Sideways.

Enjoying well-deserved product placement in that film – perhaps it was a spontaneous mention not even sponsored – was a bottle of Fiddlehead, one of many fine pinots you can find in the unlikely “Lompoc Ghetto” – as Oz Clarke explained to me at a tasting, it’s a row of wine-makers’ warehouses hidden behind the Home Depot in Lompoc.

My $40 bottle of Fiddlehead, made by Kathy Joseph, who gave up medicine to make wine, was greatly enjoyed, but I haven’t found trace of it in the…

View original post 354 more words

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

