Technically Savvy

I really feel like an old granny at times, and I often wonder how much simpler my life would be, if I was just able to employ someone to look after the computer, web, blog, social media side of things in terms of the ocean row, PhD, and establishing OPG as an NGO.  We do so many things each week and are making so much progress that it is such a shame that I don’t have the know how to push this side more.  Instead, I’m sure that people get totally sick and tired of seeing the same messages posted from me about the same things, and everywhere.  This going to become even more crucial with launching the OPG International website come January 26th (Australia Day) and with keeping things updated during my ocean row.

This is a massive learning curve for me, even though I remember when computers were invented.  The power of the digital age is just immense and it astounds me that there is just so much potential there for those who know how to make the most of it….google plus, RSS, and so on.

I’m so pleased to have come across Tim Moss from The Next Challenge in relation to this as well as Al Humphries as both seem really adept at using technology and also at explaining it. Hats off to the boys I say.

I was reading through Tim’s blog today, about how he started his business ‘The Next Challenge’ from home three years ago, and how he does everything on the tiniest budget, including getting his netbook off ebay.  I picked up two new things today, how to link things using a buffer app (http://bufferapp.com/), and how to network my blog (http://www.networkedblogs.com/).  Tim has lots of other things on his page today, but those two were really useful for me, and best of all they are completely free of charge.

I’m also pleased with myself, because the Coxless Rowers introduced me to ‘dropbox’ yesterday, something I’ve heard about before, but wasn’t entirely sure about or how it might work.  This should make life a lot easier as it means that we can now share our documents, though I am a little scared incase I somehow delete them or edit them online without realising and screw things up for the entire support crew!!!  But it is definitely something that will help when it comes to OPG and my PhD too.  Again, it is totally free of charge and looks fairly simple to use (https://www.dropbox.com/).

Right, off to complete today’s mission now. A plan for how NGOs can show their sponsors where the money gets spent, as part of a grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates fund…….the kids had some great ideas, now to try and put them in written form without my waffling on to much.  Man, I need to learn how to be more succinct!  Not sure what the ‘man’ bit was about there….having a bit of an American day perhaps…geeze….

oh yes, link to Tim’s amazing website: http://thenextchallenge.org/2012/04/my-office-website/

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technically Savvy

  1. Thank you for the kind words. I hope the post was useful.

Leave a Reply

