Siberian Black Ice Race: March 2012

There was one more reason why I realised that I was a bit crazy today!!I saw the details for the Siberian Black Ice Race, and I am seriously considering taking part, if I can put a team together, train sufficiently in Georgia, and raise the funds to participate. I am still dreaming of that life long ambition to be the first person to the Northern Pole of Inaccessibility, but the race across the frozen Siberian is also a world first, and something that would certainly help me to achieve my North Pole goal.

The race will take place in March 2012,over Lake Baikal, Siberia. The world’s oldest and deepest lake. There are two races: the short one is a 155 mile “Sprint” and the second is a 379 mile “Marathon”. The journey will take place by bike, ski, foot or kite-ski!! But there are only 25 places, so it would be hard to get selected to take part. Awesome all the same, and I have a few ideas about who would be on my perfect team. If anyone fancies it, give me a shout:)

About Sarah Rows Solo

British YouTuber and Founder of Environmental and STEM education charity Oceans Project, preparing for a solo row around the coast of Great Britain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Siberian Black Ice Race: March 2012

  1. Emily EWR says:

    Hiya

    If you are still considering doing this race there are not only places left but we also currently have an offer on 😉

    Think you can do it….? You don’t need a team, the majority of people currently signed up are doing it as an individual.

    Drop me an email with your thoughts and I will provide you with all the relevant information 🙂

  2. Steve says:

    Are you still doing the race? I registered a couple months ago!

Leave a Reply

